All set for counting of votes in Huzurnagar; Result today

Hyderabad, Oct.23 (NSS): The Election Commission has made all arrangements for counting of votes polled in Huzur Nagar Assembly by-election on Thursday. In coordination with the State government and the District administration of Suryapet, the EC officials set up counting centers in the segment.

According to EC sources, counting of votes will be taken up on Thursday at 8 am and all facilities were made available in the district godown. While the EVMs are kept in strong rooms with tight security, the EC also provided CC Cameras for 24-hour live coverage and continuous surveillance and deployed police force for security. About 85% of votes polled in the bypoll was necessitated by TPCC Chief N Uttam Kumar Reddy’s resignation on getting elected as MP in parliament polls.

Those with special passes will be allowed to enter the counting center. Mock counting was planned today with officials and polling agents of the political parties in the fray. Results will be announced on Thursday. The EC said some 200754 votes were polled and those in VVPATs will be counted as per SC guidelines and EC norms.

Those in fray are: TRS’ Saidi Reddy, Congress party’s Padmavati, BJP’s Dr K Rama Rao,  TDP’s Kiranmayi and others. However, Exit polls predicted victory for the ruling party. While Congress was confident of retaining its seat, the TRS hopes to wrest it from the Congress.

Show More

Related Articles