Canada’s Trudeau names new treasury board head

OTTAWA, March 18 (Rahnuma): Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has appointed Joyce Murray as Treasury Board president Monday morning, filling the vacancy left by the surprising resignation of Jane Philpott, according to CTV, a local television network.

It is the third cabinet change within three months.

Murray, Vancouver member of parliament, is a former provincial cabinet minister and has been parliamentary secretary to the Treasury Board president for several years. She also became the Minister of Digital Government.

Philpott, who resigned at the beginning of the month, said she lost her confidence in how the government responded to the SNC-Lavalin scandal, where former Attorney General and Justice Minister Jody Wilson-Raybould alleged she was politically pressured to help the Quebec company secure a special legal agreement over charges of bribery and fraud.

Canadian Treasury Board oversees accountability and ethics, financial, personnel and administrative management, approving regulations and cabinet orders. Its president oversees management of the public purse and ensures that the government is well managed.

Back to top button