Congress dissolves 280 block committees in Delhi

Congress dissolves 280 block committees in Delhi

New Delhi, June 28 (IANS) The Congress on Friday dissolved all its 280 block committees in the national capital in the wake of the Lok Sabha election defeat.

Former Chief Minister and Delhi Congress chief Sheila Dikshit took the decision hours after meeting President Rahul Gandhi to discuss the reasons for the party’s rout on all seven seats in Delhi.

Dikshit met Gandhi along with the six other defeated Congress candidates Ajay Maken, Mahabal Mishra, J.P. Agarwal, Rajesh Lilothia and Arvinder Singh Lovely as well as P.C. Chacko, the Congress in-charge of Delhi.

The meeting lasted for over more than an hour.

According to party sources, the party leaders also discussed the preparations for the Assembly elections due in Delhi early next year.

The Congress ruled Delhi from 1998 to 2013 but since then has lost every major election.

Gandhi has held similar review meetings with leaders from Chhattisgarh and Haryana.


Show More

Related Articles