Congress loses the status of main opposition in TS Assembly

Hyderabad, June 6 (INN): With the merger of 12 MLAs into TRS on Thursday, the Congress party has lost its status as the main opposition party in the Telangana State Legislative Assembly.

In the Assembly elections held in December 2018, the TRS had won 88 seats followed by Congress – 19; MIM – 07, TDP – 02, BJP – 01, AIFB – 01 and Independent – 01. With TPCC President Uttam Kumar Reddy resigning from Huzurnagar seat following his election as Nalgonda MP had reduced the Congress strength to 18.

Of them, 12 MLAs defected to TRS on Thursday reducing the party’s strength to just 6. Therefore, now MIM is the second largest party in Assembly with 7 MLAs.

Since 10% of total strength is required to get the position of Leader of Opposition, Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka will be stripped off this position in view of Thursday’s developments. There are speculations that Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao might give the LoP status to MIM floor leader Akbaruddin Owaisi although his party is short of 11 MLAs to get that post. (INN)

Show More

Related Articles