Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique, Switzerland elected non-permanent members of UN Security Council

China’s permanent representative to the United Nations Zhang Jun (Front Middle) addresses the UN Security Council (UNSC) after the council adopts Resolution 2623 that calls for an “emergency special session” of the UN General Assembly to consider and recommend collective action on the Ukraine crisis, in New York, the United States, on Feb. 27, 2022. (Xinhua/Xie E/IANS)

United Nations, June 10 (IANS) Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique and Switzerland were elected non-permanent members of the UN Security Council for a two-year term.

The five countries were elected non-permanent UNSC members on Thursday, Xinhua news agency reported.

The newly elected members will take up their new responsibilities on January 1, 2023, and serve till December 31, 2024.

All five candidates were running unopposed on Thursday. They will replace the outgoing non-permanent members of India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico and Norway.

The Security Council is considered the most powerful body of the United Nations.

The council, which is tasked to maintain international peace and security, can make legally binding decisions and has the power to impose sanctions and authorise the use of force.

Related Articles

Back to top button