Jagan government takes back laws, sticks to 3 capital decision (Ld)

Amaravati, Nov 22 (IANS) The Andhra Pradesh government on Monday repealed two laws enacted last year to create three state capitals but announced that it will come out with a new comprehensive legislation addressing all issues including legal matters for the larger good of the people.

Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy told the state Assembly that the decision was taken to strengthen the existing provisions and to address various issues.

The Assembly passed Andhra Pradesh Decentralization and Inclusive Development of all Regions Repeal Bill 2021 by a voice vote after the chief minister made a brief statement.

The Bill repealed the Andhra Pradesh Decentralization and Inclusive Development of all Regions Act 2020 and the Andhra Pradesh Capital Region development Authority Repeal Act 2020.

However, the state minister Botsa Satyanarayana later made it clear that the government has not gone back on the decision to have administrative, legislative and judicial capitals at Visakhapatnam, Amaravati and Kurnool respectively.

The decision to pass the Bill was taken at an emergency meeting of the state cabinet presided over by the chief minister. Before passing the Bill in Assembly, the state government informed Andhra Pradesh High Court of its decision.

The high court was to resume hearing on a batch of petitions challenging the two legislations made last year when Advocate General informed it of the government’s decision.

Joagan Mohan Reddy said that the government would bring in a comprehensive and improved Decentralization Bill, elaborating the good intentions and incorporating all answers to public queries and legal matters.

Show More

Related Articles