Many Aspirants for Graduates MLC Seat

Hyderabad, Jan.28 (NSS): Political fever is gripping around Karimnagar, Adilabad, Nizamabad and Medak graduate MLC seat in the state. The seat was represented by the chairman of the Telangana State Legislative Council V. Swamy Goud. It will become vacant as the term of Swamy goud will expire in March this year.

Keeping this in mind, the election commission of India is planning to issue a notification to hold elections for the seat in the coming February. There are already several contenders for the post as  reports of incumbent MLC Swamy Goud opting out of the fray is doing the rounds in the political corridors of ruling TRS party.  The party sources are saying that Goud may be fielded from any of the Lok Sabha seat in the upcoming MP elections. Keeping this in mind, the former MLC  from the seat and senior journalist R. Satyanarayana is trying to contest from the seat. He has already urged the party leadership to extend support to his candidature.

Satyanarayana, who became MLC in 2007, quit his post following a call given by TRS party president K. Chandrasekhar Rao and actively took part in the separate Telangana state agitation. He later sought MLA ticket from Karimnagar seat but failed to get it for varied reasons. The ruling TRS party leaders Harish rao and others promised to reward him with good post in future. This has made him continue in the TRS party.

In the by-elections held in the year 2008, the TRS candidate Naradasu Laxman Rao won from the graduates seat. Later, in the elections held in the year 2013, the present MLC Swamy goud won from the seat and  became the Chairman of the state legislative council. The secretary of Telangana private educational institutions Yadagiri Rao , the mayor of Karimnagar Municipal Corporation Sardar Ravinder Singh, the former TNGOs leader Hameed and P. Devender rao are expecting the support of the ruling TRS party for the graduate  MLC ticket. Although, the elections for the graduates are held in an apolitical manner, key political parties in the state field their candidates to have majority in the upper house of the state Legislature.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *