MLC local body polls end peacefully, results on June 3

Hyderabad, May 31 (NSS): Elections for MLC under local bodies were over today peacefully in Telangana and results are to be declared on June 3. It was informed that the ruling TRS and the Congress activists shouted slogans at Nalgonda and police stopped them from any feud.

The polls held for local body MLCs in Ranga Reddy, Warangal, and Nalgonda districts. The poll body conducted the polls in 25 polling stations and 2,799 electors participated in the electioneering process. Voting began at 8 am and continued till 4 pm. In the undivided Ranga Reddy district, former minister P Mahender Reddy, Congress leader K Prathap Reddy are in fray. The officials set up eight polling stations for 811 electors in its purview.

The poll body conducted the polls in a peaceful manner and the results will be declared on June 3 followed by counting. By 2 pm the poll percentage was put at 96.67 per cent, the poll officials said. In Nalgonda, the followers of TRS leader K Bhupal Reddy and Congress leader Komatireddy Venkat Reddy got head on and resorted to shouting slogans against each other. The police intervened and prevented them from getting into a tussle.

As the poll body made arrangements seven polling stations 1086 electors cast their votes in Nalgonda district. TRS leader T Chinnapu Reddy, Lakshmi wife of Komatireddy Venkat Reddy were in poll fray. G Jagadish Reddy, MP Utham Kumar Reddy, MP Lingaiah Yadav, MLA P Shekhar Reddy cast their votes in Nalgonda district. In Warangal combined district, 902 voters, including MPTCs and ZPTCs participated in the elections in 10 polling stations. While five were in the polls fray, TRS has fielded P Srinvas Reddy and Congress I Venkatram Reddy and three others are independents. MPs P Dayakar, B Prakash and TRS leader Kadiam Srihari also exercised their franchise.  (NSS)

Related Articles

Back to top button