PJTSAU proposes to increase 100 seats in B.Sc (Hons) Agriculture

Hyderabad, May 3 (INN): The 10th Academic council meeting of the Professor Jayashanakar Telangana State Agricultural University (PJTSAU) has held here on Friday at the conference hall in University Auditorium premises at Rajendranagar.

Vice Chancellor of PJTSAU Dr. Praveen Rao has chaired the academic council meeting which was attended by Registrar Dr. S Sudheer Kumar and Deans of various faculties and several internal and external members of Academic council. They participated in deliberations on academic and administrative issues concerned to the university and passed the resolutions.

The Academic Council has passed the resolution to enhance the 100 B.Sc (Hons) Agriculture course seats from 563 to 663 (which include all categories) seats under payment and NRI sponsored quota. Of them, 75 seats will be filled under payment quota and remaining 25 seats will be filled under NRI sponsored quota. The payments seats will be filled as per the government norms and based on the merit secured in the Telangana EAMCET.

Dr Praveen Rao said that the seats under payment and NRI quota will be filled after getting the final approval from the State government. In view of the growing demand for B.Sc (Hons.) Agriculture course seats the university has proposed to increase the seats under NRI sponsored and Payment quota added the VC.

The Academic council has also gave the approval for the reintroduction of PG programme in Statistics & Mathematics at the College of Agriculture, Rajendrangar, and also gave the approval for the reduction of  seats in Agriculture Polytechnic course which is offering in university polytechnics from 330 to 220 seats.

The other resolutions of Academic Council include the change of name for the faculty of Home Science to Community Science; renaming of the University Library to Knowledge Management Center and increase in B.Sc (Hons) Community course seats to 75 from 59 seats for the academic year 2019-20. The New Gold Medal sponsored in the name of “Professor Mohammed Taskeen AliNiaze Gold medal” by their children who are settled in US, which will be awarded to the candidate who secured Highest O.G.P.A in the M.Sc Agriculture course.

Deans of Various faculties Dr. Sathyanarayana, Dr. Vijaya Laxmi, Dr. Sadasiva Rao, Dr. Vishnuvardhan Reddy and other Academic Council members also attended the meeting. (INN)

Show More

Related Articles