Tammineni Sitaram Unanimously Elected As Speaker of AP Assembly

Hyderabad, June 13 (NSS): Former Minister and YSRCP Leader  Tammineni Sitharam (64) was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the 15th Andhra Pradesh Assembly on Thursday.

The protem  Speaker Of the house S Appala Naidu conducted the election of the speaker. As many as Thirty MLAs of YSR Congress Party including state Ganj we ministers proposed

Tammineni’s name after which he was formally announced as the new speaker. After his election, Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy formally invited him to the Speaker’s Chair and the protem speaker handed over the charge to him as the new Speaker of the AP Assembly.

Following the usual formalities, CM Jagan Mohan Reddy congratulated Tammineni Sita Ram and appealed him to protect the parliamentary democracy.

Hitting out at the previous administration that has been led by Telugu Desam Party’s chief Chandrababu Naidu, Jagan said, “The last house witnessed incidents that violated all the democratic and legislative norms thanks to the attitude of the then speaker of the house and leader of the house. He urged the speaker to become a role model for every body .

The Chief Minister said the YSRCP’s victory was aided by god’s grace as against the uncorrupt and undemocratic practices of the TDP government. “They had engineered defections and taken 23 out of 63 MLAs when we were in Opposition. Similarly, three of our MPs were illegally snatched way. God’s script is so beautiful that they are now left with 23 MLAs and three MPs,” he quipped.

Tammineni Sitharam , a BC leader, will be the third Speaker from the Srikakulam district to be elected as speaker. Earlier Thangi Satyanarayana and K Pratibha Bharathi were elected as the speakers of the erstwhile Andhra Pradesh Assembly. (NSS)

Show More

Related Articles