Withdrawal of nominations ends

Hyderabad, Jan.14 (NSS): Withdrawal of nomination papers ended on Tuesday at 3 pm. As per Election Commission schedule, municipal polls in Telangana on will be held on January 22. The SEC said there are a total of 1,786 polling stations for 385 wards in corporations. Simultaneously, the last date of giving B Forms by political parties came to an end today.

As many as 120 municipalities and nine Municipal Corporations are going to polls on January 22 and results will be declared on January 25. The State Election Commission will announce the final list of the candidates in the fray on Tuesday evening. With the new order of the High Court, the Election Commission will be conducting the polls for Karimnagar Municipal Corporation on January 25 and the results will be announced on January 27. The last date of withdrawal of nominations is January 16 for the corporation elections.

According to information, there was infighting in the TRS party for tickets. Top leaders, including ministers and MLAs are trying to cajole the rebels to withdraw from contest, but only a few withdrew. The Nizamabad municipal corporation has 411 polling stations, Karimnagar 348 and Ramagundam has 242 polling stations. For 2,727 wards in 120 municipalities, the EC has set up 6,325 polling stations. Of them, Mahabubnagar has 240 polling stations, Adilabad 183, Nalgonda 180, Suryapet 146, and Miryalaguda only 144. Besides, 15 polling stations each were set up in Dornakal, Wardhannapet,  Kothapally and Dharmapuri.

Show More

Related Articles